Background & Overview of the Burton Awards

PURPOSE OF THE BURTON AWARDS

A Well-Established Tradition in Law

In 1999, a unique national awards program was established to perfect legal writing and evolved into also rewarding legal achievements. These achievements range from legal writing to publications to the greatest reforms in law. The principal focus is awarding effective legal writing. The program now honors partners in law firms and law school students who use plain, clear and concise language in their writing, as well as lawyers in the military and the executive branch of government, journalists, and law school professors.



Hailed as the "Preeminent Awards Program" in Law



The Burton Foundation, which funds the program, is a volunteer, not-for-profit organization concentrating on major accomplishments in law. It defrays the costs for the program's judges, winners, and students who attend the event and are given the awards. With tax-exempt status as a 501(c)(3) corporation, the program is designed to reward excellence and encourage perfection.

THE HONORARY BOARD OF DIRECTORS:

The honorary and distinguished Board of Directors of the Burton Awards program includes: William C. Burton, Partner, Sagat|Burton LLP; Chief Judge Richard Posner, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit (retired); U.S. Senator John Cornyn; U.S. Senator Roger Wicker; U.S. Senator Mike Crapo; U.S. Senator James E. Risch; U.S. Senator Todd Young; U.S. Senator Tim Kaine; U.S. Senator Christopher Coons; U.S. Senator Robert P. Casey, Jr.; U.S. Senator Chris Van Hollen; U.S. Senator Joni Ernst; U.S. Senator Mike Rounds; U.S. Senator Michael F. Bennet; Justice Carol Corrigan, California Court of Appeals; Jane Sullivan Roberts, Managing Partner, Macrae; H. Rodgin Cohen, Senior Chairman, Sullivan & Cromwell LLP; Lisa Rickard, Counselor to the President and CEO, U.S. Chamber of Commerce (retired); Les Parrette, President, One Page Thinking and Deputy Chairman, The Burton Awards; Linda A. Klein, Past President, American Bar Association and Senior Managing Shareholder at Baker Donelson Bearman Caldwell & Berkowitz, PC.; Betty Whelchel, Head of Public Policy & Regulatory Affairs, BNP Paribas SA (retired); Stephen R. Mysliwiec, Partner, Miller Friel PLLC; Brad Karp, Chairman, Paul, Weiss Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison LLP; Bernard Nash, State Attorneys General Practice Co-Chair, Cozen O'Connor; Hubert L. Allen, Executive Vice President, General Counsel and Secretary, Abbott; Bruce Byrd, Executive Vice President and General Counsel, Palo Alto Networks; Lynn Charytan, Executive Vice President and General Counsel, Comcast Cable; Lucy Fato, Former Executive Vice President, General Counsel and Global Head of Communications and Government Affairs, AIG; Duane Holloway, Senior Vice President, General Counsel, Chief Ethics and Compliance Officer, Meta; Anne Robinson, General Counsel and Corporate Secretary, Vanguard; Maryanne Lavan, Senior Vice President, General Counsel and Corporate Secretary, Lockheed Martin Corporation;

Steve McManus, Chief Legal Officer, State Farm; Brian Burton, Senior Attorney, Alston & Byrd; Kevin O'Connor, Executive Vice President and Chief Legal Officer, Carrier; and Bradford Berenson, General Counsel, TPG.

THE FOUNDER

William C. Burton, Esq.: William C. Burton is a partner in Sagat | Burton LLP, New York. He is the Founder and Chairman of the Burton Awards Program. His practice is devoted to lobbying at the federal and state levels of government. He has served as a New York State Assistant Attorney General and an Assistant New York State Special Prosecutor. For fifteen years, he was the Director of Government Affairs and handled legislative and regulatory



matters for Continental Insurance, one of the largest international insurance companies. He is the author of *Burton's Legal Thesaurus*, the first reference book of its kind written for the legal profession. The book is now in its sixth edition. When it was published forty-one years ago, Mr. Burton was given a prestigious and prominent award by the Association of American Publishers which declared the book "One of the Most Creative and Innovative Projects of the Year."

In 1999, Mr. Burton created the Burton Foundation and the Burton Awards program to encourage perfection and reward excellence in the legal profession. The non-profit Burton Awards program is run in association with the Library of Congress.



In 2010, Mr. Burton was awarded the "Golden Pen Award," the highest award given by the Legal Writing Institute, the second largest organization of law professors in the United States. The honor and tribute was given for his advocacy and impact on legal writing. Later in 2011, he was presented the "Blackstone Award" by the Friends of the Law Library of Congress for embodying and promoting the best ideals of the venerable institution. In 2017, the U.S. Chamber of Commerce Institute for Legal Reform Individual Achievement Award was presented to Mr. Burton for

making the U.S. civil justice system "fairer for all."

In 2022, Mr. Burton was selected as a member of the Hofstra Law School Hall of Fame. The Law School selected its top 50 graduates on celebrating its 50th Anniversary. He is also the recipient of the 2022 Lifetime Achievement

Award from the American Society of Legal Writers comprised of more than 2,700 jurists, professors and practitioners. The award was previously presented to U.S. Supreme Court Justices Antonin Scalia, Ruth Bader Ginsburg, Paul Stevens, and Stephen Breyer, and other prominent award winners. In 2024, Mr. Burton received the ABA Presidential Citation for visionary leadership and contributions significantly impacting the legal profession and society at large. Mr. Burton created "The Committee on Legal Terminology" which records annually, officially, new words and phrases in law.